Dressing a Mantle

“Sometimes,’ said Pooh, ‘the smallest things take up the most room in your heart.”

We have a mantle! The mantle has landed. Mannnntle. DON’T LOOK NOW, IT’S A MANTLE!

….Did I mention that we have a mantle? Once or twice? Oops, sorry about that.

Uh-huh, we have a mantle. And my favorite thing EVER is to re-arrange it. I already have three times, and we’ve only been in the house for a few months. It might be a little over-zealous, but it’s funnn!!

This was arrangement #1:

Glass head: $20 at Pier 1, I had to have it.

White ceramic bird perfume bottle: $2, Salvation Army

White horse jewelry box: $1, Dollar Store

“Hannah” embroider: $6, antique mall

Everything else I already had from the apartment.

Arrangement 2:

Christmas! So much fun. Unfortunately, that stupid tile all over my mantle makes it difficult to hang anything. Hence the tinsel garland and ornaments. Maybe I’ll have a better idea next year? Still, it turned out pretty festive. Everything up there I bought last year 90%-off at Hobby Lobby in January, except for the-

Nativity set: $50, Avon (yes, a splurge, but it was worth every penny)

And now arrangement #3:

Have I mentioned that I’m ready for spring? This transformation took place during that Christmas cleanup/purge/pack away/throw away all the old shit crazy time the weekend after New Year’s.

Candlesticks: $6-12 apiece, Hobby Lobby

Topiary: $15, antique mall

Glass vases: $5-10 apiece, antique mall

Huge white frame: $22, Ikea

Peacock print: $10, Etsy

Gorgeous white ceramic tealight holder: Christmas gift from my sister:)

Now wasn’t that fun?:)

One thought on “Dressing a Mantle

  1. Pingback: 2012: A Year in Review « Cozy Crooked Cottage

Leave a comment