No monkey business!

Hello again! Last weekend was a busy one for us at our cozy crooked cottage. My brother-in-law came over and spent several hours working with the Hubs to install our new gutters…yes I finally have gutters!!! I’ve been waiting for these since, well, since we installed the roof. Which was over a year ago. In September 2012, 20 months ago to be precise. Not that I was paying attention. Much! ­čśŤ

Anyways, we got the gutters up and the Hubs also installed my new front light fixture (pics to follow). Then, we went to Lowe’s for an $8 gutter part and left spending just over $300. Are we the only ones that do this?? I’m so ashamed. It’s inevitable! List or no list, I always spend more than I plan at Lowe’s. We bought our $8 part, and also invested in the Lowe’s new Iris home automation system. An official review of the system will be forthcoming, but since it is still in a “beta phase” at our house, I’m giving our Iris system a few more weeks in operation┬ábefore putting my stamp of approval on it. (So far, it’s the bomb. Just sayin!)

I’m not gonna lie, one of the best parts of this past weekend started out as JUNK! Seriously, garbage. My in-laws moved into a new house recently and removed some of the more…questionable…decorating choices left behind by the previous owners. Some of these questionable decorating choices ended up in the back of my brother-in-law’s truck, which was parked in our driveway during the gutter adventure. I may have seen the questionable decorating choices, and I may have asked what plans were in store for them. So that’s how┬áthese questionable decorating choices ended up in my home!

Exhibit A: Questionable Capuchins

IMG_6095 IMG_6096

These questionable capuchins have a great sense of fashion. They are wearing fabulous, weathered, solid wood gold frames!

IMG_6097 IMG_6098

So I cleaned them with my handy Norwex antibacterial microfiber envirocloth…

IMG_6099 IMG_6100

Removed the backing & artworks…

IMG_6101

One of the artworks had some pretty extreme water damage…but it’s ok, I was throwing that part away anyway!

IMG_6104

THIS is what I wanted. This beautiful wood frame and solid glass, cleaned all sparkly with my Norwex window cloth!

IMG_6105

For new artwork, I turned to my college drawing class sketchbook…

IMG_6106

And while these figure sketches were fabulous…

IMG_6107 IMG_6108 IMG_6109

They weren’t what I was looking for.┬áSo I turned to my end-of-class portfolio!

IMG_6110

A message I wrote to my drawing professor (wasn’t I just a cocky little art student):┬á

IMG_6111

And struck gold! These are some awesome original graphite & charcoal figure drawings!! Now to pick only two…

IMG_6112

Mission accomplished!

IMG_6113 IMG_6115

And I knew exactly where I wanted to hang them, on a sad empty stretch of wall right next to the living room window.

IMG_6127 IMG_6133IMG_6134IMG_6132 IMG_6144IMG_6145

Breakdown:

Frames – FREE

Artwork – FREE

Hanging kit – $4 at Ace Hardware

xo,

signature2

Leave a Reply

