Lucky update #1

She made it! I figured that her first night with us would be the worst, dealing with the stress of her injuries and also the stress of me cleaning & handling her. She didn’t make much noise, in fact she was so quiet that I checked on her a couple of times thinking she might have passed. But no! She was sitting just quietly in a corner, as if she knew that the doctor had prescribed rest for her condition:)

photo 1

Lucky is actually pretty docile. Our first batch of chicks this year was hyper hyper hyper! Every time we reached into their cage they would run around and peep like maniacs, raising a huge cloud of food and wood chip dust. Lucky sits quietly and waits to be picked up! Good girl. I don’t think she minds being held, when I snuggled her for pictures this morning she peeped softly and stayed still, not even freaking out when I gave her little kisses on her head.

photo 3

photo 5

photo 4

I don’t know if you can really tell from the picture above, but her wounds have scabbed over nicely! The scab will protect her tender skin as it heals and new feathers start to grow. Apparently chicken doctoring is one of my many talents…who knew! I’m not sure if there’s anything else I need to do for it – maybe lightly dab the area with saline to make sure it stays clean? I don’t want to soften the scab and slow the healing, so I think I’m just going to keep an eye on it and leave it alone. She seems in high spirits and is eating and drinking, I think just getting her away from the crowd at Rural King helped her a lot. She even takes bread crumbs out of my hand! What a sweetie. She’s got a long road ahead of her yet.

photo 2

xo,

signature2

One thought on “Lucky update #1

  1. Pingback: Lucky update #2 | Cozy Crooked Cottage

Leave a Reply

