The Elephant in the Room

I would like to report that I am feeling much better today! After Zumba last night I stopped by Walgreens to pick up some photos I had printed (for today’s project!), and to also buy more chocolate. I had eaten my last chocolate truffle on the way to Zumba (I totally burned it off) and knew I couldn’t return to a home devoid of my favorite indulgence. The triple-threat of exercise endorphins paired with chocolate endorphins and the addition of a 25-minute phone conversation with The Hubs was apparently just what I needed to get rid of my doom & gloom mood=) 

PRICH_HappyChocolate_LRG

Favorite line: “Nobody knows the truffle I’ve seen!” Image from trishs.blogspot.com

Also, I’d like to thank everyone for being so adorable after my living room paint reveal yesterday and not mentioning the Elephant in the Room. In truth, the Elephant is so big, it was literally the first thing that both my mom AND The Hubs mentioned when I told them my plans to paint the living room grey. And since I’m sure you’re dying to know how you managed to miss such a huge Elephant, so I’ll tell you what it is.

The Elephant in the Room is the fact that when we first bought our house, the living room was already grey!

Then I painted it green.

And then I painted it back to grey.

There, I told you. See what I mean? Huge! These are the pictures of the living room from the Realtor’s listing for our house:

6 2 4 5

Look familiar?

photo 2

The more I look at this picture, the more I think I should turn the fan blades over to their white side and shorten the pull-chains. Oh, and paint the birdcage either cream or gold, and turn the dog crate into an end table somehow.

My new Edgecomb Grey walls are a tad lighter, creamier, and warmer, but hey, it’s still grey! The thing is, 17 months ago I wasn’t a grey kind of person. Now that I’ve realized how much I love the chocolatey grey in our bedroom and the grey stripes in our hallway, grey as a color has really grown on me. Personal design does that – what I love one month I decide I’m done with the next. I try to only splurge on the big things that I KNOW I will always love, like my Ektorp sofa, the Liervik bedframe, and our bright red washer & dryer. Most of the “makeovers” that I do in my home are inexpensive and easily reversible. If I fall out-of-love with my peacock blue open closet, I can repaint it, put the doors back up, or add a curtain. If I decide I’m done with my nearly-black bathroom, or that my striped hallway is tres passe, I’ve only said it a million times…

…change is just a gallon of paint away! 

So that’s why I refuse to feel bad about the Elephant in the Room. I’ll acknowledge it! Grey wasn’t my style a year and a half ago, and now it is. Hooray that paint is cheap!

xo,

Signature

6 thoughts on “The Elephant in the Room

  1. Pingback: Been there, done that | Cozy Crooked Cottage

Leave a Reply

