My vintage-glam closet

I’ve got a brand new closet! I’ve got a brand new closet! (Sing those lines to the tune of “I’ve got a golden ticket” from Willy Wonka & the Chocolate Factory, and you’ll understand the party in my head right now^_^) My closet makeover was such a success I can hardly stop staring at it. I blogged about some of the issues that I had been having with the closet in this post here. In a nutshell, my relatively good-sized closet had become a disorganized dumping ground, partly because I lacked appropriate storage, and partly because I could just swing shut an unwieldy pair of doors and call it a day. In less than the amount of time I usually spend watching a Friends marathon, I emptied, painted, organized, and refilled the closet. I also took the time to sort through our seasonal clothes and pack away the summer ones in boxes under our bed (Before you think I’m late in doing this- remember where I live! Here in the South-Midwest we’ve only had a few weeks of “Winter” weather so far. So I’m not really that behind:P)

In order to torture you some more case you don’t remember (as if the image wasn’t already burned into enough retinas), here’s what I started with:

Step 1, admit you have a problem (and need help. and medication. and probably alcohol, before tackling this project)

image_2

I’M SO ASHAMED.

Step 2, clear everything out so you can see what you’re working with.

image_12

I see lots of potential here….

Step 2.5, ignore the train wreck this project makes the rest of your house.

Melanie had a blast rolling around on top of every single pile of clothing, including (but not limited to), several pairs of black dress pants, Mark's flannel shirts, and my clean gym outfits.

Melanie had a blast rolling around on top of every single pile of clothing, including (but not limited to), several pairs of my black dress pants, Mark’s flannel shirts, and my clean gym outfits.

Step 3, paint the sh*t out of that closet.

Oh, I forgot a step. I also took the doors off (by myself). It was pretty simple (and I did it all by myself!). I used the same paint that I bought for my bathroom makeover - it's Caribbean Splash by Olympic, in No-VOC satin interior paint. It took 3 coats to get the color to even out well.

Oh, I forgot a step. I also took down the lower bar, and took the doors off by myself. It was pretty simple, just be careful to keep a grip on the door so it doesn’t fall over when you take the last screw out (and I did it all by myself!). I used the same paint that I bought for my bathroom makeover (blogged about here)- it’s Caribbean Splash by Olympic, in No-VOC satin interior paint. It took 3 coats to get the color to even out well. I thought about painting the ceiling with the same color as the walls, but didn’t want it to end up looking cave-like. Did I mention that I took the closet doors off by myself?

Step 4, put all the pretties back in and take lots of pictures. 

image_3

image_7

image_6

image_14image_4image_5

Thoughts? So far, the jury’s out on whether or not it makes the room look BIGGER. I purposely decided on the peacock blue to create an eclectic, bohemian vibe, sort of like what you might feel upon wandering into a vintage boutique. The darker blue is definitely cozy & striking! My coral and orange handbags and bright-colored boots really pop against the closet walls. Presentation is everything:)

Step 5, curl up on the bed and stare at the dreamy new closet you created.

TA-DA

TA-DA

xo,

Signature

P.S. Yes, The Hubs is aware that I have now taken over approximately 90% of the house with froo-froo girliness. See, we have an unspoken agreement (silence is concession, right?). I let him do whatever the hell he wants in our garage, and I get the house! Plus he gets 5 out of the 9 dresser drawers in our closet, so that’s more than fair, right? 😉

P.P.S. …have I mentioned that when I’m happy, he’s happy?

6 thoughts on “My vintage-glam closet

  1. Pingback: My lips are sealed « Cozy Crooked Cottage

  2. Pingback: 2012: A Year in Review « Cozy Crooked Cottage

  3. Pingback: New Year Resolutions: Cottage Style « Cozy Crooked Cottage

  4. Pingback: The Elephant in the Room | Cozy Crooked Cottage

  5. Pingback: Quick (and cheap) Spring decorating ideas | Cozy Crooked Cottage

  6. thanks for your blog. i like the tone of your writing and the projects and also makes me feel more interested in improving my own apartment on a tiny budget!
    i’m actually almost shedding a tear! ❤

Leave a Reply

