It’s so sparkly I’m gonna die!

Alternate title: “What to do when you’re feeling anti-social on the most social day of the year”.

First, my gift to you today is a video. I’ve seen this 5 times now, each time with a different subset of my family, and it is STILL FUNNY. Five times later.

Happy Thanksgiving, by the way! What a great day. I don’t mean to brag, but my family has some freaking sweet traditions. My Aunt, mother & older sister cooked & baked, but MY job was the best. I got to decorate the table! I “shopped” the house for vases, candelabras, silver platters, pumpkins and branches. I set the table (actually, three tables) for 28 today at my parents’ house. TWENTY-EIGHT. Which is why I’m currently stuffed, exhausted, and sitting on the couch in my flannel pajamas with a glass of wine.

I LOVE my family. Seriously, I could just eat them up! Those are some great people and I adore every minute with them. BUT. (There’s always a “but”, right?)

Interacting with people is exhausting, and it seems like the older I get, the more exhausting it is. Have you heard of the Myers-Briggs personality test? The main premise is that people fit into different personality groups, and each personality interacts differently with others. This is important in that it can help you understand people and better maintain your relationships, both at home and at work. When I first typed myself, I was an ENFP- Extroverted iNtuitive Feeling Perceptor. From Wikipedia, the Myers-Briggs definition of ENFP is:

“ENFPs are initiators of change, keenly perceptive of possibilities. They energize and stimulate others through their contagious enthusiasm. They prefer the start-up phase of a project or relationship, and are tireless in the pursuit of new-found interests. ENFPs are able to anticipate the needs of others and to offer them needed help and appreciation. They bring zest, joy, liveliness, and fun to all aspects of their lives. They are at their best in fluid situations that allow them to express their creativity and use their charisma. They tend to idealize people, and can be disappointed when reality fails to fulfill their expectations. They are easily frustrated if a project requires a great deal of follow-up or attention to detail.”

In the 10 years since my first typing, my personality has changed. I actually type as an INFP now- an Introverted iNtuitive Feeling Perceptor. The difference is an extroversion to introversion shift-

“Introversion (I) preferred to extraversion: INFPs tend to be quiet and reserved. They generally prefer interacting with a few close friends rather than a wide circle of acquaintances, and they expend energy in social situations (whereas extraverts gain energy).”

BUT WHAT DOES THAT MEAN????

It means that after several hours with around 27 people, I need some jammies, wine & mindless TV. And sparkle therapy. LOTS of sparkle therapy!

20121122-182814.jpg

My kitchen windows are all gussied up for Christmas!!

20121122-182832.jpg

This two-ornament set was $4.99 at TJ Maxx. Who doesn’t love massive gold glittery stars?

20121122-182841.jpg

20121122-182851.jpg

Not only are my windows glittery now but some of the love, er, sprinkled off. If I wasn’t still so tired I’d chase Mark around with this sparkly hand (and also make a vampire reference)- he abhors glitter in any shape or form. And I LOVE it!

20121122-182900.jpg

Which is why my fingernails are also glittery- Ulta nail polish in Diva, $6 (currently “buy two get two free”. I may have gotten a few as stocking stuffers:) God I love presents).

20121122-182908.jpg

Happy sparkly turkey day!

xo,

20121122-183908.jpg

P.S. If you’re interested in typing yourself, try this online test. (it’s not really a TEST, per say. There’s no way to fail, only learn more about yourself and how you interact with others. So click away!)

6 thoughts on “It’s so sparkly I’m gonna die!

  1. Well hello, fellow INFP! πŸ™‚ I get peopled-out pretty quickly, I have to say. Loooove the ornaments! I need more sparkle in my life. happy thanksgiving! πŸ™‚

    • I had no idea you’re an INFP too! Great minds think alike, right? Anyway, I’m glad you like the ornaments. It was hard to decide how to decorate the windows- I had originally thought that twin wreaths would be cute, then veered toward a long garland to drape above them. When my mom found the sparkly stars I immediately changed course:) now I’m wondering what else can be sparkly…. LOL!

    • Yes, re-take it! It’s crazy how much people change. My teenage self was a whole different animal. I prefer to think that I have mellowed out:) This way, when I get fed up with people, I know I’m not being antisocial- I’m just being ME:P

  2. Pingback: Have a super-sparkly day! « Cozy Crooked Cottage

Leave a Reply

