I probably should’ve gone to work today…

I’m on vacation! Well, as of last Friday at 5PM I’m on vacation. It’s a weird feeling! I haven’t had any time off from work since I took a couple days for my Ikea-licious Chicago trip in July to celebrate my birthday. It’s been less than a year since my unemployment experience, and I’m still kinda sensitive to being home with nothing to do. It brings back awkward memories of sitting at my kitchen table on a sunny Monday morning, mug of coffee in one hand while surfing Monster and Yahoo Jobs, bookmarking promising posts. I never want to be back there.

So this sunny Monday morning while I sat at my kitchen table with a mug of coffee in one hand, a major difference surfaced- instead of copy/pasting my résumé into a half-dozen job applications, I was on Facebook. FACEBOOK. And it was delicious.

Then, I went shopping! What else are you supposed to do with a day off? Seriously.

My dad’s younger brother is in town with his wife & family for Thanksgiving, and my Aunt? Is awesome. She’s like the hot, mom-version of Lucy Liu, and she’s a better dresser. She, my mom, my younger sister & I spent a day wandering through antique and consignment stores, breaking only to enjoy some wood-fired pizza at a local restaurant. DON’TCHA WISH YOUR MONDAY WAS GREAT LIKE MINE? Don’tcha….

THE SCORE:

A white ceramic pig’s head plaque- this is the one thing I picked out all day that my mom & aunt shook their heads at…but I LOVE IT. It was $12.50, and I had to have it. Her name is Miss Piggy.

20121119-212206.jpg

20121119-212239.jpg

20121119-212250.jpg

My aunt bought this mini-cuckoo clock for me as my Christmas present. Having out-of-town family visit is great- no waiting for you christmas gifts! Oh, and you know, there’s also good company & conversation and all. Lol;)

20121119-212259.jpg

20121119-212304.jpg

20121119-212310.jpg

I found these gold owl bookends at a massive consignment store that we discovered literally down the road from my house. In fact, every store (out of, gulp, 6) we visited today was in a 5 mile radius of my house. It’s official, I’m in love with this town! They were $12 as a pair, and remind me of the owl candle holder I bought at Target a few weeks ago.

20121119-212320.jpg

20121119-212327.jpg

20121119-212333.jpg

By now I’m sure you can tell why exactly I should have gone to work today, as my title suggested. Entirely too much fun went down. I’m not sure how the rest of my week can top today. Hear that, week? If you’re listening, I sure hope you’re saying, a la Barney Stinson, CHALLENGE ACCEPTED.

xo,

20121119-221719.jpg

10 thoughts on “I probably should’ve gone to work today…

  1. This week will be legen-waitforit-dary!! LEGENDARY!!

    But seriously, I love the pig – it made me giggle. I love whimsy. 🙂 And the cuckoo clock – i’ve been keeping my eyes peeled for a cuckoo clock to add to our living room wall!

    • Yay you knew who I was talking about!!! Yes, I LOVE whimsy. I could marry whimsy. Out of curiosity, how big are the pictures on your computer screen, and are the centered or not? This is my first post using the iPad WordPress app, I’m not sure how I feel about it!

    • Marilyn- the pinecone is one of the overly fragrant bunch we found at Rural Kung a few days ago. I originally had them piled on my kitchen table, but The Hubs got a migraine and I think it was from the artificial fragrance. So I scattered them around the house in ones & twos, and problem solved! I adore pinecones.

    • Alex- we found a bigger cuckoo clock at an antique store while on vacation a few years ago, but it broke on the drive home:( I’d been in the lookout since then. They pop up so unexpectedly, keep looking!

    • Leah- hooray you like Miss Piggy! How can someone see that and NOT take it home?? I feel like I need to rethink who I go shopping with! Haha, j/k, I love those ladies:) There’s a really cool idea in this month’s Country Living magazine (p. 65 if you get it) where a taxidermy head was mounted on a plaid wall plaque. It really dressed the piece up, and I think it would turn Miss Piggy into an artwork. We’ll see if I get around to it!

  2. Pingback: 2012: A Year in Review « Cozy Crooked Cottage

  3. Pingback: A sunny day | Cozy Crooked Cottage

Leave a Reply

