Evolution of a gallery wall

It’s totally true. I love my hammer. I love my nails, too, and love my power drill and screws just slightly less. But only because my hammer is a teensy bit more convenient.

The reason why I love all of these inanimate objects so much is because they facilitate my insane quest to PUT ALLLL THE STUFFS ON THE WALLLSSSS.

I put pictures on the walls, hang posters, jewelry, kitchen utensils and knife racks, plate racks, lamps, and even night stands. Everything that can possibly be mounted to the wall in our house, is. My husband joked as he was leaving for a trip one weekend that he would probably come home to find all of our furniture nailed to the walls. That very nearly happened, and was only barely avoided by a liberal application of chocolate cereal and a Downton Abbey marathon.

Is it any surprise, then, that I found a way to put even more things on our walls? No? I didn’t think so.

Back in this post I talked a little bit about gallery walls, and how I didn’t think the one in our living room was cutting it. Here’s a quick recap, with the:

Evolution of a Gallery Wall

Gallery Wall circa September 2011

I know that’s not really a picture of the gallery wall up there, but I still think it’s cool to see where we started! September 16 was our 1-year anniversary in this house! (In retrospect I’m kinda digging the soft grey walls. Don’t get me wrong, I looove my green living room, but maybe down the road we’ll go back to a more muted color.)

.

Gallery Wall circa June 2012

The June 2012 gallery wall was during my “more is better” period- lots of color & stuff, but so very cozy. My mistake was hanging the frames so high on the wall. It really makes the ceiling seem even lower in this picture.

.

Gallery Wall circa August 2012

The August 2012 gallery wall is quite an improvement. I tried to unify the frames by using matching art- in this case, numbers in different fonts printed out on regular printer paper. Still having a love-affair with the giant orange cat painting my younger sister created for me.

.

Gallery Wall circa September 2012

.

Gallery Wall circa September 2012

My September gallery wall was a work in progress. After scooping up several cheap frames during my Ikea trip last July, I knew I had plenty of objets d’art to choose from. When it comes to selecting art for your frames- go with your gut! I have a framed letter, a picture of my family from when I was 5, and a computer printout of a vintage blue coral print I found on google images, all hanging next to each other. I really liked this gallery wall, but it still felt a little off-kilter. Maybe I needed more black frames?

One day while I was battling boredom at work I used Microsoft Paint to tackle my dilemma:

Gallery Wall circa October, courtesy of Microsoft Paint

.

All I did was take a picture of the existing gallery wall and play around with picture placement. Some frames got swapped, and three more were added. I also played with art & mat colors, just for kicks and giggles. Can you spot the differences between this picture and the one I previously posted? Here’s a side-by-side, with the MS Paint enhanced version on the right:

.

I had three small Ribba frames from Ikea that I couldn’t figure out how to put on the wall- they’re the ones that are supposed to sit on a shelf. They have a hook for hanging, but it’s recessed inside the frame, meaning my nails would have to stick a good 1.5″ out from the wall in order to catch on the hook. I ended up buying some Command picture hanging strips from Walgreens and just sticking them directly to the wall.

Gallery Wall circa October 2012

..

,.

Ikea Ribba frame with computer printout of vintage blue coral print

Unknown frame with original watercolor from street vendor in Italy, Ikea Virserum frame with vintage ink drawing from Etsy.com

Ikea Virserum frame with vintage ink drawing from Etsy.com

Ikea Ribba frame with computer printout of inspirational print, Ikea Virserum frame with childhood picture.

Ikea Virserum frame with original watercolor of Venice from Etsy.com

I’ve definitely been scouring Etsy for fun & funky original artwork. There are some sweet vintage watercolors that I have my eye on=) You might be seeing another update of the gallery wall very soon.

xo,

9 thoughts on “Evolution of a gallery wall

  1. Pingback: House tour updates: Living Room | Cozy Crooked Cottage

  2. Pingback: 2012: A Year in Review « Cozy Crooked Cottage

  3. Pingback: Evolution of a gallery wall, continued. « Cozy Crooked Cottage

  4. Pingback: Been there, done that | Cozy Crooked Cottage

  5. Hello I am so excited I found your weblog, I really found you by error, while I was searching on Google for
    something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like
    to say kudos for a incredible post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to go through it all at the moment but I have saved it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the excellent work.

  6. Have you ever thought about writing an e-book or guest authoring on other websites?
    I have a blog centered on the same subjects you discuss and would really like to have you share some stories/information.
    I know my audience would enjoy your work. If you are even remotely interested,
    feel free to shoot me an email.

  7. I don’t even know how I stopped up right here, however I assumed this post was good. I do not know who you are but definitely you are going to a famous blogger if you happen to aren’t already.
    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

