If a tree falls in the forest.

I’m sure you have heard the question “If a tree falls in the forest, and no one is around to hear it, does it still make a sound?” If you’re at all like me, you immediately wondered why we even care about a single tree falling in the middle of a freaking forest, and who do we blame for it’s falling in the first place. Did the tree have insurance? What did it fall on? Assuming the forest was of your usual variety (and not the abandoned haunted forest variety), tons of wildlife can bear witness to the falling of the tree, leaving the answer to the question an obvious one. YES. Yes, the tree made a sound.

Which is exactly what I was trying to say in the first place.

In fact, I have the perfect example of the noise-making capability of lonely falling trees. Two words: MY LIFE. The last post I wrote on this lovely blog was on July 24. JULY 24. July 24, 2012. Yes, the July 24 that was 1 month and 4 days ago. I wish I had a better excuse for not writing…but it’s pretty simple. I got bored with it. In fact, I’m still a little bored, but at the urging of some dear friends, I decided to post something and see if my excitement comes back.

Despite the fact that I haven’t posted in over a month, life has been marching on. You may not have heard the tree -or trees- fall, but it’s still happening, and it’s making a hell of a lot of noise!

Some things that have happened:

I went to Chicago.

At the Bean

.

Standing on the Skydeck at the Sears Tower

.

Annabeth & I sitting on the Skydeck at the Sears Tower

.

Authentic Chicago deep dish… NOM

.

And also to Ikea.

Have coffee, will Ikea.

.

Dream kitchen. And it’s 20%-off! 😛

.

I could live in this cabinet.

.

Why yes, I did climb into every display shower.

.

Moving in.

.

The things they say about Ikea meatballs? ARE ALL TRUE. nommmss.

.

…and I bought a few things.

Meet Annabeth, my packhorse…I mean, my dear friend! (I was pulling the flatbed)

.

We* put together a bed. (*Mark)

“C’mon babe, I want an action shot! Work that hammer!” …

.

When I’m taking pictures, I’m not helping. Hence the pained look on Mark’s face.

.

Me: “D’you think this is sturdy enough?” Mark: “It’s metal, of course it’s… *horrified* What are we going to be DOING on this bed??” LOL

.

I told him I wouldn’t put this one on the internet. I lied.

.

I met my nephew…

Finders keepers.

.

…And taught some art classes.

Wonder who we studied? He rhymes with “Shmichelangelo”

.

I checked “The Kind Diet” by Alicia Silverstone out from the library:

Researching vegetarianism…again.

.

And I’m doing Zumba 4+ times a week.

The attitude is NOT optional!

.

So basically? Summer happened.

Outside my car window.

.

What could possibly go wrong here…

.

Oh, right. THAT could happen!

.

Best fortune ever=) (And in case you’re wondering, I got to pick out my sparkly anniversary present that day, and our anniversary is still a full month away. I’d call that a wise use of charm!)

.

5 thoughts on “If a tree falls in the forest.

  1. Pingback: Evolution of a gallery wall | Cozy Crooked Cottage

  2. Pingback: I probably should’ve gone to work today… | Cozy Crooked Cottage

  3. Pingback: 2012: A Year in Review « Cozy Crooked Cottage

Leave a Reply

