There once was a mixer from Nantucket

This is a story about a mixer, illustrated by yours truly.

There once was a mixer from Nantucket-

Vintage Sunbeam Mixmaster that TOTALLY WORKED IN THE STORE.

that was loved by all who met it.

This mixer caused no end of joy when I made it mine. In the throes of passion, I decided I should bake something. I don’t bake that often as it’s just Mark and I at home. He doesn’t have much of a sweet tooth so anything I make is invariably eaten by, well, me! One batch of chocolate chip cookies = approximately 2 pounds gained over the course of a week. So I’ve learned that when I want a cookie I should just go to Starbucks and buy one, or risk turning into a blimp.

But with my new stand mixer, I could make all sorts of yummy treats! I decided on zucchini bread. Zucchinis are in season right now and are sooo cheap and delicious, but I did have to stock up on staples. You know you don’t bake very often when you have to buy both flour and sugar before you can start! I even found mini aluminum loaf pans with plastic lids, 2/$2 at Walmart, so I can take the loaves to the office for breakfast.

The recipe I used is from “Big Oven”- a website that syncs across apps on both my iPad and iPhone. I chose the recipe because 1. it had really good reviews! and 2. one of the photos was of the bread made in mini loaf pans like the ones I had bought, so I knew that it would work well. It is supposed to keep in the fridge or freezer really well, too.

Zucchini Bread

Original recipe makes 2 regular loaves, or four mini loaves
  • 4 cups raw zucchini, shredded
  • 3 cups flour
  • 2 1/2 cups sugar (could be lowered, add raisins or other sweet fruit to balance)
  • 1 1/4 cups vegetable oil (could be replaced with applesauce to lower fat content)
  • 4 eggs, beaten (I used fresh eggs from our chickens!)
  • 1 1/2 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt*
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda*
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder*

Zucchini Bread Preparation

  1. Preheat oven to 325.
  2. Grease bottoms only of 2 – 9x5x3 loaf pans, or 4 mini loaf pans.
  3. Blend all ingredients together on low for about 1 minute, scraping sides of the bowl constantly.
  4. Then, beat on medium for about 1 minute. Don’t over mix.
  5. Pour evenly into pans and bake for approximately 50-60 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.
  6. Cool on rack for about 10 minutes before removing from pan.

*If you use self rising flour, omit salt, soda, and baking powder.

Preparation looked like this:

So pretty with my new mixer!

Everything was going great until-

Yes, my husband is in my contacts as “Mark Darling”

But it broke when it was used-

I swear… it worked in the store. It even worked when I first got it home and turned it on for an inaugural spin! But when I piled everything into the mixing bowl, plugged my Sunbeam Mixmaster back in and turned the dial to setting 3, “MUFFINS- QUICK BREAD”… nothing. I even tried different outlets in case that would change anything, but no. It was not to be. All the charm & appeal of the sweet little vintage mixer went right out the window when I realized IT WAS NOT WORKING.

and left Hannah all confused,

In a huff I pulled out my hand-held mixer and finished the zucchini bread, but it just wasn’t the same. As I washed the beaters and bowl and lovingly reassembled my Mixmaster the fragrance of sweet bread baking took some of the sting out of the fact that it was now just a glorified paperweight.

and as for the love, well, it lost it!

The end.

…Okay okay, the story doesn’t end there.

Mark also was bitten by the cooking bug and decided to make deviled eggs when he got home from second shift last night. When I woke up today and walked out to the kitchen to start my morning jolt of caffeine (COFFEECOFFEECOFFEEE), I first saw this:

No dishes for me to wash!

All of the dishes from his deviled egg party were washed and neatly drying in the sink! This restored my faith in my abilities as a trainer wife, as you have NO IDEA HOW LONG I have been trying to get him to wash his own dishes. It is very demoralizing to go to bed with a clean sink and wake up to a dirty one! But anyway, he remembered this time, so I was happy=)

BUT WAIT, THERE’S MORE.

I turned around, heading to the fridge to see how his deviled eggs had turned out, and saw this:

WHAT

In case you blinked, here it is again:

Poor Mixmaster is now a wallflower. My KitchenAid is the prom queen FYI.

With this note:

Hands off, ladies. He’s mine!

And as if that wasn’t precious enough, he PUT A BOW ON IT:

You’ll have to pry it from my cold, dead fingers before I’ll return this

So the pretty blue mixer was replaced by a bigger, better mixer.

At this point my heart melted in a puddle of romantic goo all over my bare feet and I ran into our bedroom to thank this master of surprise. I sat on the side of the bed and obnoxiously gently poked his shoulder to bring him wake him up. Judging from the fact that he came to with a grin on his face, I’d say he knew why I was poking him. I then commenced incoherent babbling that I’m sure he managed to translate into a heartfelt “thank you!” I was a full 15 minutes late getting into the shower because I pulled him into the kitchen to demonstrate my new mixer on every speed and setting. I’m sure I’m betraying my vintage-cheap-recycle loving roots, but this KitchenAid? TURNS ON. My mom has this exact same mixer- a white KitchenAid Classic- that has been going strong for 20+ years. That’s pretty good advertising IMO.

Don’t think that we spend our days chucking $200+ gifts at each other! Mark & I love gift-giving, but it’s more likely to be an icee, candy bar, or Red Bull gifted unexpectedly (we’re not addicted…much) than an expensive kitchen appliance. That’s why this caught me off guard and felt so special- it’s not my birthday, or Christmas, or any of the other holidays that I’ve convinced Mark involve gift giving (I’m sneaky like that)!

But there was a KitchenAid on my counter on this mundane Tuesday morning, waiting for me.

The end.

1950’s milk glass mixing bowl fruit bowl for $25, not bad!

xo,

P.S. Anyone want a 1950’s teal blue Sunbeam Mixmaster…paperweight?

3 thoughts on “There once was a mixer from Nantucket

  1. Pingback: My lips are sealed « Cozy Crooked Cottage

  2. Pingback: 2012: A Year in Review « Cozy Crooked Cottage

  3. Pingback: Open shelving on a budget* | Cozy Crooked Cottage

Leave a Reply

