Mood Boards

Hello again! Recently I’ve been having fun making Lists. Lists, with a capital L. L-I-S-T-S. Wow, the more I type the word “lists” the weirder it looks. Currently on my iPad I have (among others) the following lists:

  • What I would buy with $1000 (It actually totals $1,217.89, I’m apparently rounding down)
  • What I would buy with $500 ($507)

I’m so tight-fisted that I won’t spend a DIME unless it has been thoroughly planned, re-planned, and then planned yet again. Because I’m such a visual person, I’ve found a way to view my many lists in pictures! It’s like board books for the budding interior designer- they’re called MOOD BOARDS.

A mood board is basically a 2-D collection of different items that all have something in common. Creating a mood board can be as simple as pinning your favorite pictures from a clothing magazine onto a corkboard, or clipping pages torn from decorating magazines onto your fridge with magnets. Since I do a LOT of shopping and browsing online, I created my mood boards in Microsoft Paint with images I copied from various websites. Most of them revolve around paint  colors- they say the best way to pull an entire room together is to pick one item- either a painting, piece of furniture, paint color or accessory- and plan the whole room around it.

Guest room: Have wrought iron bed frame, turkish rug, and sky blue walls. Need ceiling fan, white sheer curtains, glass lamp, white lantern string, and Urban Outfitters ruffle duvet cover.

Hall Bathroom: Need jade bath wall paint, waffle weave shower curtain, espresso-colored vanity and matching mirror, floating wall shelves, beaded board ceiling with crown molding, wicker baskets for closet organization and floating wall shelves.

Hallway: Have gray paint. Need track light fixture, board-and-batten wall treatment, rug runner, and decorative plates for display.

Master bathroom: Have dusty eggplant paint and mini chandelier. Need white vanity (storage!), wall shelf (storage!), elegant mirror, and mod grey wallpaper (for top half of walls).

Kitchen: Have lemon mint walls. Need new pull-down faucet, industrial-chic wall light fixture, ceiling fan, beaded board ceiling, beaded board backsplash painted jade bath (can anyone say COTTAGE? I love it!), cow creamer (on sale at Pier 1 for $2.50, more on that later), and DIY red pantry door project.

Living room: Have lemon mint walls, blue ikat lamp, Pier 1 throw pillows, black and white chevron rug. Need white sofa slipcover, white ikea Expedit for media storage, beaded board ceiling, plug-in wall lamp, and blue velvet tufted ottoman (yes, it HAS to be blue velvet. I’m in lust).

 

Many of the paint colors on the boards are already up, as well as a few rugs, light fixtures, and pieces of furniture. I included them on my mood boards so that they help visually set the feeling for the entire room. While I definitely wish I could have every item featured on my mood boards, some things are just out of my price range. Many will end up being thrifted, Craigslisted, or DIY-ed. If you have a question about where a particular item on a board came from, ask me! I plan to go into each board in more detail at a later date, this post is just the introduction:)

Some pictures on my mood boards represent projects- for example, the beaded board ceiling in our kitchen/living room and hall bathroom (I want want WANT to cover up our ugly popcorn ceiling), the beaded board backsplash in the kitchen, and the mod gray wallpaper planned for the master bathroom.

Let’s just say I’ve laid out the biggest “To-Do” list of my blog so far- and I’ll come back to these boards time and again while updating our home this summer.

2 thoughts on “Mood Boards

  1. Pingback: Princess bathroom reveal | Living in a Cozy Crooked Cottage

  2. Pingback: 2012: A Year in Review « Cozy Crooked Cottage

Leave a Reply

