I’m baaack!

Didja miss me? Didja didja?? What a great summer break! Sleeping in, feeling the wind in my hair and the sand in my toes, reading book after book while sipping on a bottomless glass of sweet red wine…I should do this EVERY year!

…Just kidding, I didn’t take any time off work, didn’t sleep in, and definitely didn’t go to any beaches. I did read books and drink wine though! So no surprise there.

First a quick update – I’m still loving life as a medical receptionist at a local animal hospital…The Hubs is still bopping along at his job as a truck driver…we’ve added TWO more babies to our family (I’ll introduce them officially in another post, but Ozzie is a 1-year-old black and tan dachshund found on Craigslist and Moonshine is a 10-week-old grey fluffball kitten I got from a friend at work who was fostering a litter)…the chickens are laying like crazy and we’re averaging 14-20 eggs a day…I went to IKEA with my mom for my birthday…and what else what else…oh yeah! We TORE DOWN A WALL IN OUR HOUSE.

Let that sink in for a minute.

We tore down a wall in our house. It was epic. Not like a “hey remember that weekend at the lake when we went skinny dipping at midnight and then realized we were locked out of the cabin and had to crawl through that tiny basement window? That was epic!” kind of epic (although that would be pretty epic honestly, but has never happened to me I swear), but a Transformers/Iron Man/Troy/Avatar mashup things exploding shirtless Channing Tatum running around huge dust cloud DEBRIS EVERYWHERE kind of epic. Okay there was no shirtless Channing Tatum…that was just in my imagination;) MOVING ON…

My favorite part of the whole thing? It only took 1 day to get the wall out and the room livable again! I have the good fortune to be married to a man with a brother who is a general contractor – they spent a Saturday from 8AM to 7PM working non-stop, and by nightfall the demolition was over, swept, mopped, and debris loaded up to be taken to the dump. We had some killer teamwork going on! Over the next few weeks I took time to paint the new living room walls with Benjamin Moore’s Edgecomb Grey to match the rest of the walls, put up artwork, arrange furniture, hang curtains, and make a trip to IKEA with my mom to pick up a few new things (another post for another day!).

I’m planning to write about the demolition & design choices we made, and also post before and after pictures from all angles, but right now I just want to show off my pretty house!!! We had some absolutely beautiful sunlight a few mornings ago and I ran around taking pictures like a maniac. Enjoy:) (If you absolutely MUST have before pictures in order to put things in perspective, check out the “Our Home” page and “Before and After” page)

IMG_2672

Living room BEFORE

IMG_2822IMG_2821 IMG_2825 IMG_2826 IMG_2827 IMG_2828 IMG_2831IMG_2829IMG_2830 IMG_2832 IMG_2833 IMG_2834 IMG_2836

As you can see, the wall is out but the project is far from over! You may have noticed that the ceiling is awaiting mudding & painting, part of the wall by the couch still needs to be patched over & trimmed out, we now have not one but TWO types of hardwood flooring in one room, and there is some caulking & painting needed on the doorframe of our new hall doorway (no, we’re not leaving it the natural wood… as awesome as it looks right now, it doesn’t match the all-white trim in the rest of the house).

These are all things we have yet to tackle, but after the epic demolition of 2013, The Hubs and I are each breathing a sigh of relief and taking a moment to put our feet up and enjoy the space we created together. It feels so good to be able to have friends and family over and not feel like we’re sitting on each others’ laps! We’re also excited to see how removing the wall and opening up a second doorway into the hall helps hot air circulate when we use our fireplace this winter. And don’t get me started on how excited the PUPPIES are about this living space expansion! They run and run and run in circles, jumping over and sliding under the couch, ricocheting off the chairs and then hiding under the table before starting the circles again:)

Hope you like what I’ve been up to this summer! It’s good to be back, I can’t wait to hear from everyone! Have you done anything epic with your summer?
xo,

signature2

One thought on “I’m baaack!

  1. Pingback: Wall demo start to finish | Cozy Crooked Cottage

Leave a Reply

